Friday, Mar 1, 2024

Carlton Development Program Manager, Brad Ebert, has been awarded the ninth Phil Walsh Memorial Scholarship.

Ebert boasts 260 games at AFL level with both West Coast and Port Adelaide over a 13-year playing career. Following his retirement in 2020, Ebert broadened his horizons away from football by working at Treasury Wine Estates in South Australia. At the same time he worked through an MBA, started a wine business ‘Hey Diddle’ and stayed in touch with football through his involvement on the Football Sub-Committee for Port Adelaide, providing strategic guidance to the football department.

Ebert’s passion for working with people, leadership and the want to develop himself and others to get the best of themselves landed him back in football and at IKON Park for the 2023 season. He works closely with Carlton Head of Development and VFL Coach Luke Power and is instrumental in supporting players as they progress through the Blues’ development pathway as they challenge for senior selection.

The Phil Walsh Memorial Scholarship was created following Phil Walsh’s tragic death in July 2015. The winner receives a $10,000 grant, to help develop coaches to follow the example Phil set during his coaching career.

AFL Coaches Association CEO Alistair Nicholson congratulated Brad Ebert and reflected on the impact Phil Walsh made to football and coaching.

“The Phil Walsh Memorial Scholarship reminds us of Phil’s relentless curiosity and care for people in the game. He had an impact on many of our members and the broader industry, and so we are very pleased to announce another worthy winner this year” Nicholson said.

“Ten high calibre nominations were received, and the voting was incredibly close, with only four votes separating the top four. Brad was ultimately recognised for his significant commitment to personal growth in all that he has undertaken – both in and out of football. The scholarship from the AFLCA will assist Brad to continue to further this growth and provide opportunities to aid his development at this point of his coaching career.”

“Brad is an extremely worthy recipient of the Phil Walsh Scholarship and the industry will benefit greatly from Brad receiving this scholarship."

Carlton AFL Senior Coach Michael Voss praised Ebert for his passion and commitment to living out daily what is important to him.

“Brad is a quality person and has been a wonderful addition to our football club. He is a very worthy recipient of the Phil Walsh Scholarship,” Voss said.

“He has been a strong mentor as a leader, evident in his leadership at Port Adelaide, he always took the time with the younger players to skill them up and impart his wisdom, and he is doing that now with tremendous effect at Carlton.

“He has a clear passion for working with people, he values what he does in football but also everything he has built for himself outside of football. To take a step into the unknown and have a passion outside football is important and something that Brad has taken in his stride.

“For as long as I have known Brad, he has something outside of football that he is looking to continually get better at. He has invested a lot of time in his studies.

“This is only one part of his journey, and all of us here at Carlton are so glad that we can be involved in this part of his journey.”

Ebert described being awarded the Phil Walsh Memorial Scholarship as an indescribable honour. 

“It is very humbling. I feel very fortunate to be able to work in football and now to be given such a scholarship that will enable me to continue to grow as a coach is such an incredible opportunity, and one I won't take for granted,” Ebert said.

“I feel extremely fortunate to have gotten to know Phil Walsh at West Coast and then at Port Adelaide. Phil was a great coach and an even better person. He had a strong personality and helped broaden my perspective in life.

“He was very analytical, he had that broad array of skills that made him a great coach. As a player, you always looked up to the way he went about his thorough and evidence-based coaching, and at the same time he was able to create relationships with players.”

2016 - Ben Rutten
2017 - Adrian Hickmott
2018 - Aaron Greaves
2019 - Damien Truslove
2020 - Luke Kelly
2021 - Scott Selwood
2022 – Neville Jetta
2023 – Tim Clarke