Gary Ayres Award (Best Finals Player)

The AFL Coaches Association Gary Ayres Award is presented in recognition of the player who has been adjudged as the best player throughout the AFL Finals series, as voted by the coaches on a weekly basis throughout the duration of the AFL Finals Series. 

Votes are issued after every game of the AFL Finals series by the competing coaches, with each coach providing their 5-4-3-2-1 for the match. 

From 2022 any AFL Grand Final votes issued will receive 1.5 times loading.


Gary Ayres was a member of 5 Hawthorn premiership teams – 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, and 1991 and is a two time Norm Smith Medallist, adjudged best on ground in 1986 and 1988.

Ayres coached 223 AFL games between 1995 and 2004: 116 with Geelong and 107 with Adelaide.


Grand Final

Votes by Match

Votes by Match

Sat, September 28
GWS Giants
Player (Club)
Dustin Martin (RICH)
Bachar Houli (RICH)
Jack Riewoldt (RICH)
Marlion Pickett (RICH)
Nick Vlastuin (RICH)


Votes Player Club
19 Dustin Martin RICH
13 Tim Taranto GWS
12 Bachar Houli RICH
11 Joel Selwood GEEL
10 Jamie Cripps WCE
10 Toby Greene GWS
10 Jeremy Howe COLL
10 Stefan Martin BL
9 Shane Edwards RICH
9 Nick Haynes GWS
9 Tom J Lynch RICH
9 Luke Shuey WCE
9 Zac Williams GWS
8 Tim Kelly GEEL
8 Dion Prestia RICH
7 Patrick Dangerfield GEEL
7 Jacob Hopper GWS
6 Tom Hawkins GEEL
6 Jack Riewoldt RICH
5 Jake Kolodjashnij GEEL
5 Scott Pendlebury COLL
5 Daniel Rich BL
AFL Coaches Association Logo