Gary Ayres Award (Best Finals Player)

The AFL Coaches Association Gary Ayres Award is presented in recognition of the player who has been adjudged as the best player throughout the AFL Finals series, as voted by the coaches on a weekly basis throughout the duration of the AFL Finals Series. 

Votes are issued after every game of the AFL Finals series by the competing coaches, with each coach providing their 5-4-3-2-1 for the match. 

From 2022 any AFL Grand Final votes issued will receive 1.5 times loading.


Gary Ayres was a member of 5 Hawthorn premiership teams – 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, and 1991 and is a two time Norm Smith Medallist, adjudged best on ground in 1986 and 1988.

Ayres coached 223 AFL games between 1995 and 2004: 116 with Geelong and 107 with Adelaide.


Grand Final

Votes by Match

Votes by Match

Sat, September 24
Geelong Cats
Sydney Swans
Player (Club)
Isaac Smith (GEEL)
Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
Tom Hawkins (GEEL)
Tyson Stengle (GEEL)
Mark Blicavs (GEEL)
Sam De Koning (GEEL)


Votes Player Club
22 Patrick Dangerfield GEEL
16 Jack Crisp COLL
15 Jordan De Goey COLL
15 Lachie Neale BL
15 Isaac Smith GEEL
14 Tom Hawkins GEEL
13 Luke Parker SYD
12 Caleb Serong FRE
11 Callum Mills SYD
11 Darcy Moore COLL
11 Scott Pendlebury COLL
10 Steven May MELB
9 Jarrod Berry BL
9 Eric Hipwood BL
9 Gary Rohan GEEL
8 Hugh McCluggage BL
8 Gryan Miers GEEL
7 Marcus Bontempelli WB
7 Michael Walters FRE
6 Tyson Stengle GEEL
4 Zac Bailey BL
AFL Coaches Association Logo